Home > judaism > Random short post about beginnings of finding my way to be Jewish

Random short post about beginnings of finding my way to be Jewish

There’s lots of ways to be Jewish. For me, I like trying out different practices, different groups, different traditions, and seeing which feels right to where I am at that time. As I was brought up entirely secular, this has been a journey of my “adulthood”.

I began exploring my Jewish heritage when I was in my early twenties. But quickly I found the initial communities welcoming, but simultaneously keen to promote a politic that I disagreed with. I think its that those subsections of Judaism most keen to bring lapsed members back into the fold, the most “evangelical” that I have come across are, like their Christian equivalents, very socially conservative. So I felt awkward and like I had to hold back my views, because after all I felt grateful for how they were giving me so much for example helping me learn Hebrew, inviting me for Friday night dinners and getting Chanukah candles for me. But I felt bad anyway, because without saying anything to the contrary, it was assumed that I agreed with them on the role of women, anti choice, homophobia and most of all zionism. So I was deceiving my hosts by not saying anything, but I felt socially pressured to not speak up. And anyway, this was something I was doing away from politics. I have to argue with people all the time normally, and tbh I hate it. I hate debating. It gets me anxious even at the early stages. So doing this in a space that I felt was nurturing my soul, that gave me a hard-to-describe peace and spirituality would have ruined the experience for me. So I pulled away from that.

Anyway, I actually mean to write a review of my high holidays so far, so I’m gonna post this up as it is so far, and start a whole new post instead! I’ll make sure I start that from a bit more recently so I don’t go off on a tangent and lose my way again!

Categories: judaism
  1. Rebecca
    October 2, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    Hi, look forward to reading this, especially since I’ve let another year’s high holy days go by without doing something like going to a synagogue which part of me would quite like to do. Keep us posted!

    • October 14, 2014 at 10:08 pm

      I definitely recommend grassroots jews for next year. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment