Home > Uncategorized > Destination: Bhopal!

Destination: Bhopal!

I’m sitting at departures waiting for my gate to be displayed. And on my way to India for 4 months! I can’t believe I’m actually on my way. Feeling very unreal. The free sherbets I partaked of in duty free aren’t helping that, but at least dried my tears – had a very sad goodbye with my sweetie. 4 months without their snuggles!!

For 2 months I’m going to be volunteering in a clinic in Bhopal. Then I’m going to be backpacking about, and visiting a couple of friends, one in the far south and another in Goa.

Thanks to all of you who came to my leaving do on Friday. And those I’ve managed to see or at least speak to to say goodbye. I’m sorry I’ve been so antisocial last few months. I’ve been working long hours to pay for this trip, and to pay off the money I borrowed to do my masters.

The buildup to today has been mostly just anxiety! If I let myself think about actually going to India on my own for 4 months it seems terrifying! I have been excited too, but mostly just when telling someone else for the first time that I’m going.

I know I’ll be fine though. I tend to throw myself into crazy situations that I don’t feel prepared for and not just coping, but thriving.

I hope to:
Be useful and helpful to the people of Bhopal.
Dance
Use lots if different transportation methods
See wildlife
Send and receive a telegram
Sleep outdoors
Learn. Absorb. Develop myself.
Connect with Indian anarchists and other radicals.
See the village in goa that my ex flatmate of 5 years is now back living in.

I’m leaving behind such a rich, full and great life in Glasgow. Going away really emphasizes how much I’m going to be separated from. I’m a very lucky kid!

I’ll be keeping this blog updated while I’m away.

Have a great time yerselves.

X

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. red
    December 13, 2013 at 3:53 am

    I miss you already! I hope you have an amazing time. I am really proud of you for doing this. Inspiring fleabite is inspiring :) xxx

  2. shekhu
    December 23, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    Hey there,

    Welcome to my city. Hope you enjoy and have fun here. Hit me up on twitter @shekhu if you need any assistance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

