Home > facebook, personal > Day 1 without facebook

Day 1 without facebook

Slightly weird. Kept going to check it anyway and then seeing the login page as I’m normally always logged in, and then remembering. Have turned off all email notifications but still going to check the label I’ve long had all facebook messages filtered into. Wondering if folks have responded to my posts or comments I made on the final day. What have I missed? Hope that the profile pic made it clear enough that I’m not checking it anymore. Might make a new one and link it to something on this blog that explains my reasoning more than that random 99 days site.

Checked twitter and various other social networks more. And played more games on my phone. But felt less sucked in.

Feeling a bit twitchy, like when anything you do habitually/on the addictive spectrum is suddenly removed cold turkey from your life. But am ok with that. Shows how important it was to break off for me! I hate feeling confined and controlled by something outside me so addictions are super unpleasant – hence I quit smoking relatively easily and gave up alcohol for a year when I realised it had become habitual that if I was in an environment where there was alcohol I would drink it.

Haven’t decided at what point I’ll go back to using facebook, if at all. It was a spontaneous decision after contemplating I should do it for months/years. I’ve got a longer post I’m writing in the background about why I decided to but the sneak preview is that a) I was using it to avoid life/procrastinate too much b) I resent that by being an active node I was adding value to a social network run by an evil corporation that have sketchy as fuck privacy policies especially with regard to trying to force people to use their real names c) By using it I was adding weight to the justification for all the information, discussion and event invites that are only really shared on a social media that so many people are not on, which then leads to more people feeling they need to stay on facebook because everyone else is d) we are the ones creating content and reasons for people to be on facebook and shareholders and venture capitalists are the ones gaining money.

i think i’ll probably gain a couple hours a day. kinda wish i’d started an automatic logging of how much time i was spending on it over a week. maybe those of you still on there should do that to help you make your own minds up.

anyway, feel free to leave a comment below or email me fleabite531@gmail.com and let me know your details if you use whats app, telegram, textsecure or google hangouts and want to stay in touch that way :) even sms is fine.

hope you’re all well and birthdays are being greeted and dinner photos and selfies are getting loves.

x

Categories: facebook, personal Tags: ,
  1. Uri
    January 27, 2015 at 6:16 pm

    You realise we’re still seeing these on Facebook as posts from your account…it’s like Hotel California.

    • May 15, 2017 at 3:28 am

      La Roca ha crecido mucho desde que Daniel publicara este artículo, no dudeis en hacernos una visita y participar en:- nuestros foros,- nuestro album de Manadas,- nuestro Blog de noticias scouts y opiniones,- nuestro Wiki que pretende construir la mayor enciclopedia scout en es&#8±Ã³lpaÃ230;

  2. February 12, 2015 at 7:05 pm

    facebook is weird in how it just sucks you in without you ever noticing yourself being ensnared by the great behemoth of corporate supposedly-nice people. that was totally a sentence

  1. January 28, 2017 at 2:17 am

Leave a Reply

