Home > diary, india, travel > Travel diary day one – Bangalore

Travel diary day one – Bangalore

I arrived safe, sound and very tired in Bangalore, India this morning. Had a lovely chilled day of food and naps and hugs and chai and watermelon. Very glad to be back here, and not only because of how cold and grey it is in UK; I’d almost forgotten how good it feels to have skin warmed by the sun. And first cup of chai and spicey fried potato snack was super good. And to see ripe, fresh watermelons and I could actually afford one and it was so tasty.

Felt very easy to pack for this trip. Partly that’s because I’m only here for a month this time, and the temperature range won’t be so varied as last year, when I was away for 4 months and was in both Bhopal and the south. Also because I knew how little I actually need to bring here. I can fit everything I’ve got into a 40l bag, but didn’t have one so using a bigger bag with compression straps hauling it in. Want to travel even lighter. Was eyeing up http://www.ospreypacks.com/en/product/backpacking/farpoint_40 but: it was above my current budget at £72 even after a 10% discount for working for NHS; the laptop compartment is not next to the back, so seemed like that wouldn’t be best way to carry one of densest and most precious items I’d have; lack of side pockets for toiletries etc.

Staying with a friend in a residential, middle class suburb with an arts college v close. Its a chilled way to re-enter India. Heading for Hampi, Goa, Kerala, Tamil Nadu but not making too many stops this trip if avoidable.

Anyway am losing coherency – flight was as comfortable as such things can be but I’ve had 7 hours sleep since Sunday so everything’s a bit blurry! Spent my 3 hour stopover in Dubai using their free wifi to play ingress – they try to limit you to 30 minutes before you need to start paying – but they just used a cookie to keep track of you so using incognito mode on chrome made it unlimited really easily. Ingress is the smartphone / GPS territory capturing game you’ve probably seen me play if you ever spend time with me in meatspace.

Categories: diary, india, travel Tags: ,
  1. May 22, 2015 at 9:44 am

    Really no matter if someone doesn’t understand afterward
    its up to other visitors that they will help, so here it occurs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

