Home > lejog > OMG commitment! #lejog prep – train tickets and bike chosen.

OMG commitment! #lejog prep – train tickets and bike chosen.

omg commitment!! have booked train tickets for heading off for lejog! terrifying! leaving 27th august as friend’s wedding en route in manchester, and then onto london, will work on the sunday and bank holiday monday, and then head to penzance from london on wed 2nd.

And going to buy bike probably today! not telling you what it is in case someone says “omg not that one” after i’ve paid out! it seems to satisfy requirements within budget (£400 on the nose) and is not spectacularly wonderful bike, as seems i don’t have budget for that, but will do. has: reasonably specced parts for the budget, front and back pannier attachment points, disk brakes (i had taken that off requirement list but this bike has them anyway), steel front forks and diamond shaped frame. and is in my size and feels ok to ride. i don’t know enough to say whether its “comfortable” as i’ve only ever had bikes that were friend’s cast offs, so am used to them being randomly sized and being ok with that. it didn’t seem bad to ride. isn’t particularly lightweight, but have been seriously eyeing up road bikes and might treat myself to something cute and speedy if i can face being in a saddle ever again after september!

Helium 200 tent, multimat adventure air mat and Nano -5 sleeping bag next to bike pannierAlso tried packing my panniers for first time today. My shiney new sleeping bag (got a force ten nano -5 for £75 in the sales!), multimat adventure air inflatable camping mat (sooo comfy, lightweight and compact) and helium 200 tent fit into one of my panniers with some space to spare :) Leaves plenty of space for clothes, cooking stuff, washkit etc (not too much of the cetera though ;) ) in the other. Though might spread them out differently to make the panniers balanced. So far not needing front panniers, but the bike has the option for them. Obv I would rather travel as light as possible!

Excited and nervous. Every time I see a bike with panniers these days I get a bit dreamy. Its going to be incredible to see the length of this island and will be an amazing adventure. Its also going to be bloody tough, especially first couple of weeks. I will be nowhere near road fit – I simply don’t have the time to get the miles in between now and then.

The best physical training for a big cycle tour is to ride a really heavy bike a really long way. Obviously. Guess what? You can do that by going on a big cycle tour. Start off gently. In less than a fortnight you’ll be as fit as you’ll ever need to be. ( http://tomsbiketrip.com/how-to-train-for-long-distance-cycle-touring/ )

So, inspired, excited, nervous here I am. I’ve set the wheels in motion and soon I’ll be off on another adventure. Between then and now I have a mini adventure (train from Glasgow to Berlin, hacker camp there, and then home via 2 nights in Oslo) because life is too short to not do all the things I’m excited by. I guess I’ll rest up some over the winter! Though those who know me even a little might find that amusing/unlikely!

I’m doing lejog specifically in September, because I wanted to face my 40th birthday with a challenge, something new, and something I’ve long wanted to do (both a long cycle trip and this journey in particular). I want to say “fuck you” to society’s and my internalised prejudices about what it means to acquire years. This is my one chance at life, and I don’t intend on looking back regretting not following my dreams.

Categories: lejog Tags: , ,
  1. August 5, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    > I want to say “fuck you” to society’s and my internalised prejudices about what it means to acquire years. This is my one chance at life, and I don’t intend on looking back regretting not following my dreams.

    Fuck yes. Keep it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

